Recipe Review: a flop!

Does a healthy, highly nutritious, yet delicious snack sound appealing to you?  What about something that would replace those oh-so-irresistible potato chips?  I lit up when I first read about baked kale chips.  I have a very “salty” tooth, and love my sodium-packed greasy food.  But since I’m on a health kick (just ask Josh), I thought these kale chips would be the thing.  Sound too good to be true?  For me, unfortunately, it was…..

I started off enthusiastically: taking pictures, mentally wording a rave review, imagining my cupboards chip-free.

But to my dismay, after rinsing and stripping the kale, spritzing it with olive oil, sprinkling it with salt, and baking it for 15 minutes, my taste buds revolted.  The initial bite was not bad, but after chewing, the kale’s crispiness was gone and turned into a clump of chewy dry kale.  Not to mention that our kitchen smelled like kale for the next day.

So this recipe definitely got a thumbs down from me.  BUT, in order to make this recipe, I bought an oil spritzer, which I LOVE!!!!  It is basically a can that you put olive oil in (or any other liquid), you pressurize it by pumping air into it, and it gives a wonderful mist of oil to evenly coat your food.  I will be using it for grilled veggies, bruschetta, and many more dishes…

This entry was posted in life's happenings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Recipe Review: a flop!

  1. Lora says:

    Ha ha Ange. I noticed your super clean kitchen in the pic. I know you always cook under such neat and controlled conditions 😉
    Good of you to include flops with your successes. It’ll give the rest of us hope.
    Lora

  2. nicolette says:

    hahahahha. i did the same thing once! i thought i had a great recipe, tried it out, took pictures and didn’t like it. i also have done the baked kale thing and didn’t like it much. it tasted like burnt paper or what i’d imagine that would taste like… glad you are starting a blog. happy blogging!

  3. wkvwr says:

    I can’t figure out why on earth you thought kale chips would be good! Kale chips…really! Try sweet potato chips. Now that’s delish!
    That Olive oil thing looks awesome…must get me one of those!

Leave a Reply

