A Picture Frame Terrarium = Picture Perfect!

When I first saw a white rustic terrarium for sale at Pottery Barn, I gasped with delight…and then with shock at the price tag.  I looked online for a tutorial, found one that I liked, and then went to work (I unfortunately don’t remember which website I found it on).

1) I had to buy 8 cheap wood picture frames with glass, and so I purchased them for half-off at Hobby Lobby (4- 4×6,  2- 8×10,  2- 11×14).

2) I painted the wood frames, painted the wood sides that Josh had made, screwed it together, put on hinges so that the top can lift for easy maintenance, and inserted the glass back into the frames.

3) I added different types of cacti for a desert theme, but you could have tropical plants or some other kind as well.  It’s amazing how many varieties you can find at Home Depot!

I originally was planning on distressing the edges of the frame, but I decided that I was too anxious to finish the project liked the crisp white in my living room.

This entry was posted in decorating from scratch, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Picture Frame Terrarium = Picture Perfect!

  1. Irene says:

    I saw that last time I visited – had no idea you made it! So COOL

  2. Pingback: 43 Terrific Terrariums That Are Their Own Tiny Universes - buzzcarl

  3. Pingback: 43 Terrific Terrariums That Are Their Own Tiny Universes « hipstr

  4. Pingback: 43 Terrific Terrariums That Are Their Own Tiny Universes « Apprecify

  5. Pingback: 43 Terrific Terrariums That Are Their Own Tiny Universes - topcarltopcarl

  6. Pingback: 25 Brilliant And Simple Ideas For Adorable DIY Terrariums | Colors And Joy

  7. Katy says:

    Disappointed in the Terrarium from pictures frames Post. No instructions/dimensions on “the pieces Josh made”, nor any discussion on assembly or waterproofing. I wouldn’t set that thing inside my house unless it was on tile floors!

Leave a Reply

