Inspiration from Lena Meijer

This morning, my parents, Josh, and I went to the Frederik Meijer Gardens.  It was a beautiful morning, cool with hints of sunshine.  For me, the highlight of the many gorgeous gardens and paths was Lena Meijer’s old farmhouse.  The house and property surrounding it is a dream come true!  Let’s take a short tour….

Lena’s childhood home:

I LOVE the wide, wrap around porch with the white rockers and a weathered picnic table:

We brought coffee, cake, and cookies from home and had our 10:00 “coffee break”:

The gardens around the house were brimming with color:

The veggie patch had heirloom plants.  I love how they enclosed this garden:

The red barn is rustic, inside and out:

I also loved the trellis covered with hop vines….

….and the windmill:

I have so many more lovely pictures, and I could show you an old water pump, the corn crib, the old school-house bell, fruit trees (apple, plum, peach), the outhouse, and much more, but this post is getting long enough, and I would urge you to go and visit yourself!

Thanks, mom and dad, for the wonderful visit and enjoyable Saturday morning:

This entry was posted in outdoor landscaping, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Inspiration from Lena Meijer

  1. Irene says:

    Aw it looks like you had a great time! I would love to visit that place sometime…

  2. Sandra says:

    Thanks for sharing these wonderful pictures. Your descriptions make them come alive, and allows me to dream right along with you! I love the last picture of your parents!

  3. Dor says:

    Ange, that place is fabulous and I’d love to go again! You didn’t even tell about the wonderful children’s garden!!! Sitting by that farmhouse makes you want to go back in time. But remember how hot it was? Back in time with no a.c. and no electric appliances….hmmm… maybe not 🙂

    • Josh says that he and I ARE back in time already, with no AC in our house, haha. But you’re right, it all seems so wonderful until you actually have to live without modern conveniences (the outhouse!!!).

Leave a Reply

