Old/Vintage/Wooden Toys

Do you have fond memories of playing with wooden blocks as a child?  With simple wooden blocks you could create castles, towns, towers, farms, mountains, or anything….with a little imagination.  Maybe I’m getting nostalgic, but I look at the big plastic toys of today, (with everything put together, cheaply made, ready to fall apart, and with little room for imagination), and I cringe.  I know there are some great toys still out there, but they are quite pricey.  And if you’re not willing to pay the price, your only other option is second-hand stores or garage sales.

When I scope out a second-hand toy section, my heart begins to pitter-patter when I see Lincoln Logs, wooden blocks, or other old, sturdy toys.  I zoom in, negotiate a price, and snatch them up while they’re still around.

Why do I collect the toys?  I know that after a scrubbing in hot soapy water, these toys will last far longer and be much more useful than most toys.  I also know that these toys can be hard to find.  But more than that, I love the joy that I see in my nieces and nephews when they visit and play with the toys for more than 2 seconds (sometimes hours)!

I found an adorable set of wooden block pieces and shapes with printed images on them, with which you can make an entire village.  My niece loved playing with it (and can I say that I did too?).

And it was fun to see her understanding grow in how to use the Lincoln Logs, making basic structures but even advancing to doors and windows…all on her own!

It was hilarious when my nephew Jeremy came over for the first time.  While the adults hadn’t even left the kitchen on our house tour, he had already raced downstairs, had found the Lincoln Logs, had hauled them up to the living room, and was busy building by the time we reached that room.

So, if Josh and I ever have kids, spare us the monster plastic toys!

Disclaimer: All plastic is not evil, haha, and I know that Fisher Price has some pretty good sturdy plastic toys.

This entry was posted in life's happenings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Old/Vintage/Wooden Toys

  1. Irene says:

    I feel the same way Ange! And I love the comment about Jerebear!!! Kids must just have an innate toy-finding radar lol…

  2. Cherise says:

    I would have to agree with you about the old wooded toys! That is what we played with as kids and they worked great, never broken like the other plastic toys. Oh, if only I had more time to garage sale or shop around at thrift stores, etc.

  3. Lora says:

    Hey, this is Trina, Aunt Ange! Was Taylor helping find the Lincoln Logs? I thought that I saw Taylor race downstairs too, and I’m like,” What’s Taylor doing?” Ha, Ha, now I know. Yeah, I agree with you about old toys.Once Taylor bought this plastic helicopter, even though I warned him not to. He pulled the crank, and it skimmed into the air very nicely.I thought,” Maybe I was wrong about this toy?” But low and behold, as soon as the helicopter touched the ground from flight, Taylor pulled the crank again, and the helicopter cracked and crumbled in his hands. The helicopter had flown it’s maiden flight, and poom! The end of the helicopter. So I was right!

    • haha, Trina, I love your story about Taylor. And you’re right, maybe he did help Jeremy find the toys…I don’t remember. I’m glad that you like old toys too, and don’t want cheap junk. Have you bought anything really good at a garage sale?

Leave a Reply

