The Lure of Antique Lighting

So many houses have cookie-cutter lighting (because it’s the cheapest, I’m guessing.)  Dear old Bruce (our former house-owner) left us with some pretty decent lights, but also some boring ones.  The dining room lamp was the first to go:

Some of you may protest that it’s a perfectly good light (and this type hangs in your dining room!)…….you’re right.  But when I went to an antique store, I fell in love with a rusty, blue-and-white dining room lamp. The price wasn’t right, so I passed it by.  BUT, months later, the shop went out of business, and there was MY light (half-off!).  Thankfully Josh tolerates a little bit of wiring and fussing, and it was worth it!

Why not add pizzazz to a boring room by switching out a light? Tomorrow I’ll show you what we did to our kitchen light.  🙂

This entry was posted in decorating: before and afters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Lure of Antique Lighting

  1. Just had to say I LOVE your blog! You and I share similar tastes it seems. If you ever tire of your current coffee table, you know where to find me. 😉

    Looking forward to lots of updates from you!

  2. Thanks, Jacinda! I enjoy reading your blog too, and am one of the silent, behind-the-scenes readers. 🙂

  3. Marcia says:

    This light is wonderful! I hate those “development home” fixtures, too. I found my dining room light on ebay, and it is quite nostalgic looking. Just discovered your blog, and am enjoying your creativity and frugality.

Leave a Reply

