Revamped Crown Molding, A New Sink Skirt, and Your Opinion Wanted!

I love the combination of crisp red and white, and I’ve pulled these two colors into my kitchen.  So far, I’ve refinished my stools (white legs and a red vinyl top), I’ve painted some of the trim white and have red curtains above the patio door, and I have quite a few red and white accents around the room. What I really wanted to make was a red and white striped sink skirt.  Finding the fabric was difficult, but I finally purchased it at IKEA.  With my handy-dandy sewing machine, I whipped up the sink skirt.

The kitchen sink area used to look like this:

This is the only picture I had, haha.

Anyways, the crown molding across the sink was revamped, the window trim was painted white, the walls of course were painted a light vintage blue, and the cupboard doors under the sink were taken down and replaced with the sink skirt.

Here’s what it looks like now:

And now for your opinion:  Should I paint the rectangle above the skirt white?  Like this:

And if I do, should I paint something on it?  A phrase?  Like this:

“Kiss the Cook”

Or like this:

“Wishes Won’t Wash Dishes…”

Or just have a stencil pattern, like this:

Roosters

So what’s your opinion?  I’m open to any ideas.  The above pics are just samples, and I’m not in any way set on them.  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in decorating: before and afters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Revamped Crown Molding, A New Sink Skirt, and Your Opinion Wanted!

  1. Here’s my humble opinion: 😉

    First, I love what you did to the 70’s style trim above the sink window: taking it away! We have the exact same “ruffle” above our’s and I think it’s so ugly! I haven’t removed it yet because I thought I might make it worse, but after seeing your pictures I’m encouraged to follow in your footsteps. Bring on the sledge hammer!

    Re: rectangle above the skirt; I personally prefer the wood the way it is. But if I were to paint it, I think a quote like “kiss the cook” is kind of cute. That way, if you should develop a sudden dislike for roosters you won’t have to change all your hard work.

  2. nicolette says:

    i like “kiss the cook”
    that’s my vote

  3. Cherise says:

    Ange, I personally would leave it the way it is. If you do decide to paint it white then I would agree with putting a little saying on there as well. Those roosters are going to make your kitchen even more country than it already is with the few accents that you have that carry a bit of the country theme and I don’t know how much you want to focus on the country look in there. I know you said in an earlier post that you were aiming for more of a retro-ish kind of look.

    Trust me, I know how you feel when you look around at things and want to just add a bit more pizazz or wondering how or where you can make a change, etc. I do the same thing so, I can understand why you were looking at that.

  4. Rachel says:

    I would leave it the way it is for sure.

  5. kmdutchlife says:

    Ange,
    I am all for “Kiss the Cook!”
    Great job on the silver dollar plant! I love it!

    XO Lies

  6. Dor says:

    Well…..I like “wishes won’t wash dishes!” because it’s by the SINK not the stove and how I wish that wishes WOULD wash dishes…. However, I wouldn’t paint it white, at least not that colour white, it is quite stark. Maybe red? With a creamy white saying on it? Or a creamier white background? Or just leave it and use some of the wood you ripped off to make a plaque with: Kiss the Cook, to hang above the counter by your stove?

  7. Lora says:

    Hey Ange,

    A little late, but if you really want to paint (which I don’t think is necessary) why not black chalkboard paint? Your dishwasher is black. Then use white chalk and change the saying everyday according to your mood.

Leave a Reply

