Enjoying (and not just dusting) My Antique Dishes

How often do you formally dine and use your “best” dishes?  If I were to answer honestly, it would be (at the most) four times a year (Valentine’s Day being one of them when Josh cooks me a gourmet meal).  And what a shame!  My set of formal dishes is an antique set given to me by my mother.  They are beautiful….yet they collect dust in my china cabinet.

True- they look pretty in the cabinet (and what else are you supposed to put in a china cabinet?).  True- I don’t want them to break.  But am I enjoying them?  The only way I can really see them is to open the door and peer in.

Why not use them monthly, weekly, or even daily?  While there are no children in the house, it’s time to brush off the dust and put them to use.

That also brings me to my wine and champagne glasses, which are also rarely used.

We don’t drink a lot of wine- mostly when company is over.  Why not use them more frequently, even for juice?

All of this talk is making me think that I MUST unpack my teacup collection (which has never seen the light since my wedding day).  And that leads me to…..a tea party!  Wouldn’t it be so fun to have a tea party- using our beautiful china- with scones, cucumber sandwiches,  and other scrumptious food?  I shall have to plan one for the Grand Rapids ladies….

This entry was posted in life's happenings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Enjoying (and not just dusting) My Antique Dishes

  1. Sandra says:

    Hi Ange – I like your dishes! Maybe you could start by using these set of dishes on Sundays? I remember your Mom used to always have ‘Sunday dishes’. It makes the day a little more special. Unfortunately Hendrik isn’t too keen on any sort of antique dinnerware…but maybe someday I’ll be able to convince him so I can also have them in our new china cabinet 🙂

  2. Cherise says:

    I agree Ange. This if the reason I didn’t want any antique dishes when we got married. I agree with Sandra that you could use then for Sundays. By the way, that GR girls tea party sounds fun!!

  3. Lora says:

    Hi Ange,
    I just saw those exact dishes in a store in Midland, ON while on vacation. They were selling a luncheon plate with cup and saucer for $60. Woohoo! Josh should be pleased. I believe I was living with you guys in Clifton when Ma picked those up somewhere. I didn’t end up keeping them because I got another set of “nice” dishes. They look so pretty I’m glad someone who appreciates them got them.

  4. Dor says:

    Definitely Sunday dishes! I’m still saving up for those 🙂 But in the meantime, I bought a lovely set of cups and saucers and teapot (remember at Jo’s gazebo party?) which we use for Sunday tea. I also took some of our “good” glasses out of 6 years of hiding, but in 6 months went from 12 glasses to …5? Hmmm…. maybe the girls shouldn’t unload the dishwasher. Although I broke half of them myself.

  5. haha, Dor! And yes, those cups and saucers that were used were very lovely! It makes the ambiance all the better….

Leave a Reply

