Paint My Picnic Table?

Josh and I purchased a picnic table, which for now will reside on our deck and maybe in the future will be placed in our lawn.  Because it is raw wood, it need to be protected/finished.

Josh wanted to leave it a natural wood and just seal it.  My concern is that the blue marks on it will show up and I’m not sure if we can sand them out.  My other concern is that it won’t look good on our older wood deck.  I’m not so keen about the wood-on-wood look.

Knowing how I love to paint things, I wanted to paint the picnic table either a crisp white, or a distressed white look (to make it look old), or a pale distressed other color (not sure yet), or maybe a vibrant color.

Here are some ideas:

IMG_4515.jpg

Picnic Table Plans Free

In my mind, I’m picturing a lot of casual meals and snacks on the table, but I’m also picturing some fancy meals al fresco, with a nice runner, centerpiece, napkins, etc.

So what is your opinion?  Keep it natural?  Paint it?  What color?

I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in decorating: before and afters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Paint My Picnic Table?

  1. Susanna says:

    I like distressed white or red to match your door:)

  2. Irene says:

    Paint it a pale colour (cream?), distressed look

  3. Lora says:

    Paint it distressed in a color that compliments your house and dishes. I will be trying Anne Sloane chalk paint this week hopefully and I’ll let you know how it goes – supposed to be great to work with and you can put it on outdoor stuff.

  4. Marlies de with says:

    Hey Ange,
    I absolutely love the first blue one! I would def try a chalk paint because that is ideal for this kind of thing! If you do paint it, give it a distressed look becuase if it’s going to be outside it will become distressed anyways. then it will look fine becuase it is meant to look like that. I would say – rough distressed. If blue doesn’t match, then don’t do it but try another colour!
    Take care! XO

  5. Marlies de with says:

    Oh yeah,
    I would def paint numbers on it too – on the sittings! -Love that

  6. Sandra says:

    Anything you do will look great! I love all the examples above – the red would complement your barn and door, but the blue is also really nice. I agree with Marlies – try for the numbers on the seat – what a cool idea! (Now to find some Adorondak (sp?) chairs to match!)

  7. Rachael says:

    I liked the distressed blue one (the first of the blue tables) the best! Its different and not your typical picnic table 🙂

  8. Dor says:

    I like the distressed white — casual and can be dressed up for formal 🙂 You don’t get tired of white

Leave a Reply

