Planting Spring

Last evening, Josh and I planted Spring.

                   It was wonderful, in the midst of plunking walnuts and falling leaves,                                                         to think of new life and gardens ablaze with color.

Last year, our tulips, daffodils, and crocuses were quite sparse:

Need I say more?  Time for the 100 tulips, 100 daffodils, and 50 crocuses!

WHY DON’T YOU PULL OUT A SPADE AND PLANT SOME SPRING TOO?

P.S.

Josh and I would love to have some taller bushes (instead of the hostas) in the front of our house.  That area gets morning sun, but shade the rest of the day.  I was thinking some big limelight hydrangeas, but do you have any other ideas?  It would have to grow between 3-5 feet in height.  Here’s what we have now:

This entry was posted in outdoor landscaping, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Planting Spring

  1. Irene says:

    This brought to mind our flower bulb selling days! Remember going around to all the neighbours? I loved looking at all the different kinds of tulips and other bulbs that could be ordered too.

  2. Ray says:

    Pangy,
    Plant some nice spirea bushes (there are different varieties) and a yew or two. Both are hardy shrubs.

  3. Lora says:

    Hey Ange,
    Do some hydrangea too… they love eastern exposure. Is the variety you thought of hardy for Michigan? Down side of hydrangea is they pretty much die back in the winter – just some stalks, so I would do a mix of things.

  4. Sandra says:

    Can’t wait to see your pictures next May!! 100 tulips – goodnight! I thought I had planted a lot with 25 🙂 But our garden is about a 100th of yours… I feel like a little kid when I see the bulbs coming up in the spring – and spring comes early here!

  5. Marcia says:

    My most successful (and admired!) planting is pee gee hydrangeas. I planted mine 6 or 7 years ago, and they are already taller than I am. The bloom is conical, lime in spring, white in summer, and pink in autumn. During the winter the bloom remains (tan by then) and catches snow very prettily.
    I save my tags, and this is what it reads: Hydrangea paniculata ‘Grandiflora.’ Price was 2/$20 at Fortino’s.

Leave a Reply

