It Felt Wrong, Somehow

Our piano was free.  We had a bunch of guys help us haul it from the original house to our house.  It had sounded quite nice in the original house when we went to look at it, and I was excited to have a piano in our home.  After the move, however, the melodious sound dramatically decreased, to be replaced with a honky-tonk, tinny sound.  That wasn’t all: the keys stuck, the echo pedal broke (Josh fixed it) and broke again, half of the piano collapsed backwards and thus the whole piano was lopsided.

Nevertheless, we still plunked away at it.  Until yesterday.

Yesterday, we destroyed our piano.

Josh took it apart, piece by piece.

It felt very strange to be pulling off piano keys, never to play them again.

We took the sound board (which weighed a TON and I had to help move)                             to the scrapyard and got $30 for it.

Somehow, the whole process felt wrong.  How could we destroy a musical instrument?

But then…..

My decorating side took over.  With the piano gone, I began to dream and scheme about how I could rearrange the furniture.  I entirely blame my mom for her bad influence in the rearrangement of furniture.  I grew up in a house where furniture was continuously moved and replaced, and so I now have it in my blood.  Poor Josh.

Anyways, I spent much of last night pushing and shoving all my living room furniture around.  I puffed up and down the stairs, bringing out tables, lamps, and decor items.  Josh helped me at the start, but gave up as I kept making new arrangements.  But that was no problem: when I have the urge to move things, nothing will deter me and I have boundless energy.  After about 3 hours, I finally had things where I wanted them….for now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It Felt Wrong, Somehow

  1. Dor says:

    Ange, I had to read that blog to John to explain my penchant for rearranging our living room furniture! Somehow, like Mom, I get the urge to do it when the husband’s at work — that way if the arrangement doesn’t work you, you can huff and puff and get it all back to normal and he’s none the wiser (although you’re some the tireder 🙂

  2. haha…that’s smart! 😀

  3. Stacie says:

    🙂 This made me laugh, glad to know I’m not the only one with a need to re-arrange the furniture every so often!! Hope you had a nice Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

