Sled + Skates = Simple Seasonal Decoration

Who thinks of winter in the midst of summer?  When I’m thrift shopping, I do!  I picked up a sled and old skates at a church rummage sale a summer ago and packed them away, soon to be forgotten.  Until now.

Here’s what I did outside our back entrance which we always use:

I tied up the old skates by their laces, put greenery and twigs with (fake) berries in the skates, and made a burlap bow out of leftover material for the top.  I also strung lights along the runners and a little bit through the greenery.

Here’s what it looks like at night:

How simple (and sensational) was that?

This entry was posted in decorating from scratch. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sled + Skates = Simple Seasonal Decoration

  1. nicolette says:

    ange, you’re way to crafty. i just want to add a warning about the slippery slope. enough said.
    nic
    HA!

  2. Dor says:

    Very cute, Ange 🙂

  3. Sandra says:

    looking forward to seeing pictures of your tree next year! 🙂 maybe you can get some tips from nic? 😉
    looks great! i could see something like that by our front door…but i don’t quite have the knack of snatching such finds!

    • Well, what can I say, Sandra, about a Christmas tree? (cough, cough) 😉
      ANYWAYS, lol, the finds that I snatch sometimes sit in my basement until I pull them out a year later. It requires patience, as well as time, of course.

  4. Trisha says:

    I love it!

  5. Lora says:

    Oh Ange you put us to shame. My idea of creativity is shopping Home Goods. I thought you already fell off the slippery slope – or am I wrong?

Leave a Reply

