Fifty Pounds of Butter and “Anne of Green Gables”

Yesterday I bought fifty pounds of butter.  Yes, fifty.  The reasons?  First, it’s on sale at Meijer for $2 a pound.  Second, I’m buying for my Canadian relatives, who are burdened under the taxing price of $3.49 a pound.  So I’m carting a bunch of it over the border when I go to visit.  We’ll see how that goes!

I felt a little odd and embarrassed with that much butter in my cart. (Did people think I was crazy? Oh well.)  It reminded me of one of my favorite scenes from Anne of Green Gables:

SCENE: Lawson’s Mercantile

ALICE LAWSON: Well, Mr. Cuthbert, what can I do for you today?

MATTHEW: Well, now, uh… I’d like, uh… Have you got any, uh… Do you have any garden rakes?

ALICE LAWSON: Now, we don’t carry garden rakes in the store in December, but I’ll check upstairs. We may have one or two in storage. [leaves; returns] The very last one.

MATTHEW: Oh, that’s nice.

ALICE LAWSON: Will there be anything else, Mr. Cuthbert?

MATTHEW: Well, since you suggested, uh… I might want to look at some hayseed.

ALICE LAWSON: Oh, we don’t carry hayseed till spring, Mr. Cuthbert.

MATTHEW: Oh, certainly. Of course.

ALICE LAWSON: That’ll be 75 cents for the rake, Mr. Cuthbert.

MATTHEW: Uh, while I’m here, uh… I might want to look at, uh… If it wouldn’t be too much trouble, uh…

ALICE LAWSON: Yes…

MATTHEW: Sugar.

ALICE LAWSON: Sugar?

MATTHEW: Some sugar.

ALICE LAWSON: Oh, white or brown?

MATTHEW: Well, uh… What would you say?

ALICE LAWSON: Well, we have some nice brown sugar in stock, Mr. Cuthbert. How much would you like?

MATTHEW: Well… Would twenty pounds be enough?

ALICE LAWSON: Yes, I’m sure twenty pounds would be enough. That’ll be $1.

MATTHEW: [whispering] I need a dress. With puffed sleeves.

ALICE LAWSON: Puffed sleeves?

MATTHEW: For Anne.

ALICE LAWSON: For land’s sake, Mr. Cuthbert, why didn’t you say so in the first place? Now, you just come with me to the window.

This entry was posted in life's happenings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fifty Pounds of Butter and “Anne of Green Gables”

  1. nicolette says:

    you are being a good, frugal, dutch housewife. keep it up!!!!

  2. navesfamily says:

    one of my favorite scenes from the movie 🙂

  3. Lora vg says:

    Glad to see the butter suppliers have expanded. It will save me getting pounds and pounds at BJ’s. At least there they are packed in sets of four. Less embarrassing somehow 🙂

    • I WISH it came in packs of four! Josh and I were desperately trying to pack all the butter in brown paper bags, while keeping our other boat load of regular groceries on top so they wouldn’t get squished. Our cart was stuffed. Talk about red cheeks! =X

  4. Dor says:

    …Then I’m glad I didn’t order any! I’ll suffer under the burdensome $3.49 🙂

Leave a Reply

