Picnic Table “After”

Remember this post about my picnic table?  Well, the table was starting to rot/mold on the deck, and so we brought it into our dining room, let it completely dry out, and got rid of the mold.

And then we painted, and painted, and painted (3-5 coats of exterior white paint).  Each black number also took me half an hour or so.

Here’s what it looks like in our dining room:

It’s lookin’ mighty fine in my dining room.

Do I really want to throw it out on the deck?

*I also have some new plans for my dining room, which I’ll show you later this week.  🙂

This entry was posted in decorating: before and afters and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Picnic Table “After”

  1. Dor says:

    Ange, it’s WAY to CUTE!!! Looks ready for Valentine’s day 🙂 Those are the kind of tables I want to set for a festive dinner, occasionally. Alas, I try to get through dinner without too much food on the floor to sweep up afterwards, or too many drinks spilled. (Remember those days of knocking over drinks at the dinner table? Didn’t we all have fast reflexes in quick, holding up the edge of the vinyl tablecloth so the milk woudn’t run off onto the floor? LOL).

  2. Marcia says:

    Thanks for the suggestion about the straw; gallons of milk have gotten wiped up here over the last 20 years!

  3. haha 🙂 it was gross, but effective!

  4. Sandra says:

    Absolutely amazing! You did a fantastic job! Very professional. I bet you could sell it and make a good profit. But, of course you don’t want to do that to something you’ve spent your blood, sweat and tears over! (which one of those 3 apply? 😉 I would definitely feel sorry for the table (as well as yourself) if it had to move to the big, lonely, scary, rainy and cold outdoors. Now you have to start to plan for an addition – say a sunroom? – to give it it’s proper glory!

    • Thanks, Sandra! I spent a lot of figurative blood, sweat, and tears on it, and so I’m not ready to part with it just yet to sell it or to share it with nature’s fury. Hmmmm….a sun room sounds delicious!

  5. That is such a clever design. It looks terrific! I’m pinning this. I came over to your blog from Better After.

  6. Barbara says:

    lovely…pinned on pinterest!

  7. Alida says:

    This post totally inspired me. Check out my version: http://scarlettibis.blogspot.com/2012/04/at-last.html Thanks so much!!!!

  8. Pingback: 5 Budget Friendly Decorating Tips | Playing House

  9. Pingback: 5 Budget Friendly Decorating Tips

  10. Pingback: 5 Budget Friendly Decorating Tips » Homeology

  11. Mike says:

    The table looks amazing, we’re thinking of doing one ourselves. What sort of paint did you use? Did you apply any varnish?

    • I used an outdoor high gloss paint. If I had kept it indoors, I think it would have held up really well. But seeing that it’s been on our deck for three years, the top has a bit of flaking (I think because of the water that puddles on it after a rainfall). The benches are still doing good. And no, we didn’t apply any varnish. Hope this helps! 🙂

      • Mike says:

        That’s a great help, thanks! We’re currently in the process of painting ours to put in the dining room, looks like it’s going to need a good few coats…!

        Cheers

  12. Pingback: 5 Budget Friendly Decorating Tips | Homeology

Leave a Reply

