Plans for my Dining Room

When we first moved into our home, we did a lot of painting. I picked colors that I loved at that time. What I didn’t realize was that my taste and style would slowly change and develop over the next two years.

Which brings me to my dining room.  I painted it a sunny yellow with white wainscoting.  Although I’ve enjoyed the cheerfulness of this room, it was too much with the blue of my kitchen and the tan of my family room.  And so I’m repainting the yellow.

Before:

I plan to paint the upper walls “Pebble Rock” by Benjamin Moore.  It’s a beige/cream.  I then would love to place a large mirror on the wall and hang some blue and white plates on the sides.  The blue and white would play off the antique blue and white light fixture.

After:

This entry was posted in decorating: before and afters and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Plans for my Dining Room

  1. Sandra says:

    Looks good! Actually the yellow looks really nice, but I can imagine it’s a bit too much of a good thing with all those colours. We painted our kitchen yellow too…and I’m getting some little itches to change it (all in time, and Hendrik knows nothing about this…he’d be aghast at the thought – haha!) Btw…Hendrik asked where you get all the time to do all these projects – he said: she must not work. I said, yup, she does. She’s just terribly ambitious 🙂

    • Anonymous says:

      hee, hee…..tell Hendrik I work 30+ hours a week at school. But, I don’t have kids to take care of, which totally changes the picture. I also multitask. Last night, while Josh and I watched the Republican political debate, I painted in the dining room. 🙂

      About changing paint colors, for me, broaching the subject a little bit at a time seems to work. Josh slowly gets used to the idea, and then by the end, he’s all for it. 🙂 Like you said, all in due time. If only our husbands knew how our minds worked!

Leave a Reply

