What is Wrong with Me???

“I hate jogging.  I despise the huffing, puffing, and gasps for breath.  Plus, it’s bad for your knees.”  That’s what I would have said a week ago (and have said for the past 10 years). But something has changed.

A few nights ago, I woke up from a very vivid dream.  I was jogging in my dream (yuck! who wants to dream about that???).  But it wasn’t the huffy-puffy kind of jogging I’m used to.  It was power in my legs, wind through my hair, and exhilaration coursing through my body.  It was feet bouncing off the pavement and a tirelessness that was incredible.

Then I awoke.  And something in my brain had changed.  I wanted to go out jogging.  And so yesterday, a chilly I-want-hot-chocolate kind-of-day, I laced up my runners and jogged a little over 2 km.  It wasn’t glorious.  I didn’t float up and down the hills.  I had to walk at times.  And my lungs felt like exploding.

But I enjoyed it.  And I want to go again.  Right now.  What is wrong with me???

 

This entry was posted in life's happenings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What is Wrong with Me???

  1. Anonymous says:

    there is something wrong with you. let’s hope the feeling passes so the rest of us mere mortals won’t feel inferior!!!

  2. Anneke Naves says:

    I had to laugh when I read your post. I was at Dor’s this morning for coffee and she fed me her yummy baking despite my protests that I didn’t need it because of an expanding waist line (no, I’m not pregnant). Dor said I was just like you worrying about my pot 🙂 I too decided that jogging was a good idea this afternoon and took the kids out on the rail trail. Except I only managed to jog for about 2 minutes of the 2 kms. I traveled, gasping for breath the rest of the time as I walked and pushed 2 kids in a bicycle trailer/stroller. But I plan on doing again, hopefully 3 times a week, weather permitting!

    • haha, Anneke. That’s great that you got out and even had to push two kids! That counts for double the km’s. 🙂

      • Dor says:

        Pushing a jogger with kids in it, absolutely counts for double, hey Irene? Remember roller-blading with the buggies? And Ange you’ll be amazed how in 2 or 3 weeks you’ll have gained lots of ground without puffing 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    Your getting addicted 😉

  4. BF says:

    I’ve definitely had those moments before. They come and go, but eventually it may stick, and you may love it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

