An Embarrassment Fixed (for now)

Recently, we had my brother and his family of six over for the weekend.  A week before they came, I suddenly looked at my house with new eyes and was completely embarrassed by my shower caddy.  What was only two years ago a new, gleaming chrome caddy was now a rusty, soapy, gross place to stash shower items.

YUCK!

 And so I used a few SOS pads (and some muscle) and cleaned the it up the best I could.  Then I spray painted it with a silver indoor/outdoor paint.

 Much better, eh?

I’ll report back on how long it lasts.  😉

And while we were at it, we also painted the back entry way.  I don’t have a before and after pic, but I’m sure my mom will be proud of me when she shortly comes to visit.  She had told me last time that I should spruce up the back entryway with some fresh paint.  I hadn’t even noticed how bad it was looking!  Gotta love an honest mom!

This entry was posted in decorating: before and afters and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An Embarrassment Fixed (for now)

  1. Lora says:

    Wowzers, I would not have thought of that. Looks great! Let us know how long it lasts. I usually by plastic caddies for that reason.

  2. Lora says:

    Hey…. New header! Looks great! 🙂

  3. Joanne says:

    Nothing like guests to endow you with a set of critical eyes and a rush of activity. We celebrated Wouter’s b-day a month ago and I looked around at all the piles of papers and stuff that begins to collect on any flat surface available and rushed around organizing and sorting.

    love jo

    love your daffies!!!

  4. kmdutchlife says:

    Hey Ange,
    Great job! It’s good to have family over because it helps you to do the finishing touches on the house. I remember my family came over for the first time and I cleaned the house outside and in.
    It gives a good feeling!

    Love, Marlies

  5. Alida says:

    This post made me laugh. I’m the same way before I have family over. To remove rust stains from chrome I used a water and baking soda paste. It works wonders:)

  6. Dor says:

    Spray paint is the BEST thing EVER!!! But, caution, it is highly addictive. Suddenly you’ll find yourself wandering through the house with your finger poised on the button of a spray can, wondering, “hmmm, what else can I paint?” I think I’ve spray painted ten different things this past winter! So uplifting to see the dull and rusty become shiny and brand-spankin’-new at the touch of a $4 button 🙂

Leave a Reply

