Carrot Cake and French Women

Have you ever had carrot cake at a restaurant or cafe?  Much too often, it’s dry, very heavy, and the frosting is too fake.  That’s why I understood when Josh emphatically told me that he didn’t like it and didn’t want me to bake it.  But I knew that I could win him over, regardless of his protesting.  I used a Taste of Home recipe, which resulted in a scrumptious cake.  Needless to say, Josh and I polished it off in a week.  And he now loves carrot cake……in moderation.  🙂

 And now on to French Women.  To be more precise, a book called French Women Don’t Get Fat.  I had read it many years ago, loved it then, and am now reading a copy from the library.  The second time around, I love it just as much.  Its premise (in my words) is that you can enjoy almost any food in moderation and that eating should be a delight.  It’s all about balance and quality, instead of quantity.  The book not only inspires me to eat healthier overall, but also to dive into the kitchen with fresh ingredients and new recipes.

This entry was posted in food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Carrot Cake and French Women

  1. Nicolette says:

    how funny, ange ! i am in the process of reading the exact same book!!! and i love it, too! and it’s the second time I’m reading it. i salivate when she gives recipes and plan on making her vegetable soup someday!

  2. joanne says:

    i have the book too! right now sandra’s borrowed it from me, but i was thinking the other week that i want it back!! time for some inspiration. i’ve been following a diet for 4 weeks but want something new!!

    • Sandra says:

      Jo…is that a hint? 😉 I have to read it yet, somehow it ended up in a basket and I forgot that I had it! I have to read it yet, but will return it very shortly!
      Ange, do you have the link to that carrot cake recipe? I’ve got one, but think it’s a little too heavy / moist. I use applesauce instead of oil…did you do that too?

  3. Lora says:

    Ha, ha…. Great minds think alike. I have the book too. Like to think I follow the French way till the open bag of doritoes calls from the cupboard.

  4. Nicolette says:

    just don’t have the doritos in the house in the first place. it’s the ONLY way!!!

  5. Nicolette says:

    oh, and by the way, if you crave salties like i do, buy triscuit crackers! they satisfy the salty urge and i don’t eat that many at a time and they are way less fat than chips!!!

  6. When I’m tired I don’t eat like a French woman, but when I’m full of energy, I do. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

