Summer Exercise: Paint, Sand, Pull Nails, Dig, Water, etc.

This summer I’m not officially exercising.  Except for an occasional walk with Josh, I’m not going running, I’m not sweating in front of my exercise DVD, and I’m NOT doing crunches or push-ups.

I’m doing home renovation.  I have some dear Dutch friends that are coming over in a little over a month, and for some reason, my to-do list became miles long.  Paint the fence, paint the front porch, touch up the trim, touch up the barn, level out our new area of cleared land, make raised vegetable beds, water the plants, pick veggies, pulls nails out of trim, fill in holes in trim, sand trim, stain trim, put trim up, sew living room curtains, paint dining room cupboard, clean basement, etc.

That’s just off the top of my head and doesn’t include mental/computer work such as getting ready for the NRC teacher’s conference, working on curriculum, organizing my house, etc.

After typing all of this, I’m breaking out into a sweat.  Who said teachers have it easy?  I’ll just have to take it one day at a time.  Yesterday, I spent three hours painting the split rail fence, and today I’ll finish another job.  Breathe in, breathe out.  I’ll not only make it through the list, but I’ll enjoy it too!

 

 

This entry was posted in life's happenings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Summer Exercise: Paint, Sand, Pull Nails, Dig, Water, etc.

  1. I know what you mean. Company coming and everything needs to get done! ‘They help with the motivation too. 🙂 Sounds like you’ll have fun!

  2. joanne says:

    Company coming does funny things to you, doesn’t it? Like look up at the ceiling for the first time in weeks while having coffee with them, and noticing the spider webs crisscrossing overhead…Relax…it’s only us!!!

  3. Sandra says:

    Ange, you’ve not only got the ambition to get it all done, but the energy too! I’ve been there many times – suddenly the whole house gets spring cleaned because guests are coming. Curtains washed, ceilings vacuumed and all the cupboards cleaned. It’s a good thing tho, because it certainly helps with the motivation! Would love to say that we’re the Dutch guests, but I don’t think it’ll be happening this year. But…we’re gonna have a great time up north – lots of catching up to do. We’ll be teenagers giggling all over again – haha!

    • I am looking forward to Up North SOOOO much! We’ll have lots of time to catch up then! I wasn’t counting on you guys coming….seeing as I haven’t heard from you in a while. 😉 But you are more than welcome next year or some other time!

  4. Marlies says:

    Dear Ange!
    We are the Dutch friends along with Jo and Wouter!!! Don’t work too hard!!! Looking forward to seeing you!

    • YAY!!! So glad you can make it! I can’t wait to meet Jayden especially!
      All this exercise is good for me….and plus, being at home all day, I have plenty of time for coffee breaks and relaxing too!

  5. Lora says:

    What vim and vigor exuding from this post! Please send some my way… I feel buried by things that need to and things that should be done!

Leave a Reply

