Can Begonias Be Beautiful?

I might offend begonia lovers, but here’s the truth: I’ve never liked begonias and I think they’re ugly.  Whenever I think of them, I always picture something like this:

The thought of glossy brownish leaves matched with small orange flowers makes me run to the next aisle in the nursery.  If Josh mentions that they’d be perfect for our shady gardens, I don’t want to hear it. I refuse to buy them.

Enter my hanging baskets.  We are limited in selection because our porch is shady.  And so we were browsing through the many hanging baskets when we spotted….begonias.  They were called Everblooming Begonias, but I didn’t recognize them.  Where was the ugliness?  I was drawn to the yellow flowers cascading over their baskets above my head. The flowers were large, almost rose-like, and ranged from a pale to vibrant yellow.  The leaves were GREEN and not too glossy.

I fell in love and took them home.

This entry was posted in outdoor landscaping and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Can Begonias Be Beautiful?

  1. Nicolette says:

    I’m with you, Ange. Begonias have never been my favorite, either, but I bought two small plants for the first time ever. I like your hanging baskets, Ange. They are coming out with nicer begonias…

  2. joanne says:

    very purty ange. i like begonias in huge bunches surrounded by other flowers…but they have to be big with lots of flowers…

  3. Lora says:

    Very cute! Begonias in the right setting are beautiful. I have ones with huge flowers ( they look like roses) in my window boxes and you can see them from the road! They’re a little fussy I think… Don’t over water, don’t under water, don’t move around too much if they’re in a pot…they break easily, and not too much sun. But in the right place or the right type…. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

