Front Entrance Mini Makeover

Although we never use our front entryway, it was looking really sad.

The steps were filthy and paint was peeling everywhere!

Something is missing on the front door…

Needs some sprucin’ up!

See what I added?

I repainted the steps and added our flag. The step color was not a complete match (bummer!) but I’m OK with the new color.

Now, do I add a welcome mat (even though we don’t use these steps) or some flowers (that I might forget to water) or some kind of chair (that I won’t use) or a wreath?

 What would you do?

This entry was posted in decorating: before and afters. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Front Entrance Mini Makeover

  1. Lora says:

    A big wreath! You can get clear suction cup hooks to hang it on the glass, works for me.

  2. Denise Z says:

    LOVE that grey painted porch! We had one just like it on the door at our cottage in Michigan. LOTS of good memories! Definitely add a “Welcome” mat. I think a couple of large black pots on the ground at the front corners of the porch would dress things up and draw your eye in to the porch. Use some hardy plants that don’t need much maintenance–maybe geraniums? I remember ours doing well in Michigan summers. You could probably even run some drip irrigation over to them–less watering for you! (And may I ask…is there a reason you don’t have a railing on the other side of the steps? If you can add one, it would help balance things out)

    • Andrea says:

      Thanks for the great suggestions! The reason why there isn’t a second railing is that we bought the house that way, lol. And since we never enter through the front door, I don’t really pay attention to it. It’s great how a new set of eyes can see things in a fresh way. 🙂

  3. Denise Z says:

    LOL! GOOD reason. 😉 My neighbor and I have been helping each other with some decorating projects and were just saying this morning how it’s so much easier to see what to do in someone else’s house–I can never see/decide what to do in my own!

  4. kmdutchlife says:

    I would do a wreath – I LOVE them SO much! The doorway looks good! Good paint job!

  5. Nicolette says:

    Wreath and flower pots would look stunning.

  6. joanne says:

    i vote …dramatic pause….wreath!!!
    xo jo

  7. Pingback: Front Door Wreath From Scratch | makingmyhouseahome

  8. Marcia says:

    Maybe I’m too late to give my suggestion, but I think an old small chair painted a complementary color would look really nice set off to the left side. Maybe even put a pot of bright flowers on top!

Leave a Reply

