Nighttime Shenanigans

First off, let me tell you that I’m repainting my kitchen (again!) and have a cool idea for chalkboard paint.  Some before and after pics will hopefully be coming in a week!

I also have a winter project that’ll be in the works pretty soon.  We hope to transform our basement room (which is currently a stuffed craft room) into a cozy play room (for nieces and nephews) /entertainment room / organized craft room.  We’ll re-do the ceiling, paint the walls, put carpet in, and decorate.

But since I don’t have anything to show yet, here’s a little story about nighttime shenanigans.  It started off with an unwise decision on Josh’s part.  I was super tired and wanted to make it an early night.  Josh, who needs far less sleep than I, decided to also go early.  That meant that at 3:00 in the morning, Josh was wide awake.  And a thought popped in his mind.  After stumbling out of bed, I heard him crash down the stairs to the basement, and suddenly I heard water gushing.  He had picked 3 am to drain the water line that went outside to our faucet!  He then came back to bed (freezing!) and I thought that I would peacefully be able to sleep again.  That illusion was soon dashed!

After tossing and turning, Josh decided that he needed to read for a bit.  So off he went to the family room, and I drifted into semi-consciousness.

Scritch, scratch, scritch, scratch.  A mouse was chewing on something inside our bedroom wall. I ignored it, but unfortunately the mouse also ignored my desire to sleep and continued scratching.  I grabbed a book on my nightstand and started banging the wall. Ahhhh….silence.  A few minutes later, there it was again!  What business did a mouse have disturbing my sleep!?  I grabbed the book and vigorously banged again.

Meanwhile, Josh was quietly reading his book when he suddenly heard a “banging on the front door”. What kind of unsavory character would be knocking at 3:30 in the morning on a decent citizen’s house?  He decided to ignore it. A few minute later, the knocking erupted again. Heart thumping, he raced off to our bedroom to peek around the blinds and see who was outside.  All he met was a wife with a book in hand, ready to strike anything that would dare to come between her and sleep.

Lesson learned: Josh cannot get more than 7 or 8 hours of sleep a night and must therefore calculate his bedtime accordingly, for the benefit of all involved.  🙂

This entry was posted in life's happenings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nighttime Shenanigans

  1. Lora says:

    Ha ha… Scott’s the same…. If he goes too early he’s up before 5 am. But if he goes late he still gets up early and the next evening he’s falling asleep at 8 pm. Why don’t you invite your cat in to take care of the mice?

    • Our cat is an excellent hunter, but not used to living in a house/using a litter box. I wouldn’t dare to leave him in the house overnight when the mice come out because either he’ll have an “accident” or he’d be meowing at the door to go out. Not fun! But we’ve killed 6 mice already with traps, and hopefully there won’t be too many more!

Leave a Reply

