The kitchen is done….for now!

After a delay of three days due to rushing and then having to re-do my work, my kitchen now has a little face lift.

First I attacked the walls (with a paintbrush).  The moment I had painted them two years ago, I knew the color was off.  I was going for a retro blue color, but it ended up too bright and shiny (since it was in semi-gloss):

DSC_0273

This time around, I still wanted some shade of blue, but something subtler that complemented my adjacent dining room (painted white and “pebble rock”).  So I chose palladian blue, which is a soft blue/green/gray. After a couple of days of painting after school, I was finished. I love the new look because I think it makes my cabinets look less orange/yellow and the satin finish is so much better than semi-gloss:

DSC_2641

But I wasn’t finished with paint!

Down in my basement collecting dust was a can of chalkboard paint itching to be used SOMEWHERE.  Inspiration struck (well, you can be the judge of that)! Our back entrance was the perfect place. We have struggled with having a dumping ground for my aprons, our keys, and other random stuff.  We had used a chalkboard shelf, but it only had two hooks and it hung too low. What if….

DSC_0348

I removed the chalkboard, which I’ll be using elsewhere, and painted a large stripe of chalkboard paint.  Then I added hooks (yay! I used a drill) and began a doodling frenzy.
DSC_2640

DSC_2637DSC_2638DSC_2639
DSC_2635I added a calendar to keep our oh-so-busy social life under control.  I’m looking into getting chalk markers that will give crisper lines and not create dust.  For now I went a little overboard with doodling and colors, but I’m thinking that I’ll also decorate it in a more industrial way (using only white chalk) and perhaps throwing up a quote once in a while.  The possibilities are endless!  And since I love fussing with this kind of thing, I know I’ll get lots of use out of it.

Have you ever used chalkboard paint?  What was your result?

This entry was posted in decorating: before and afters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The kitchen is done….for now!

  1. Nicolette says:

    ange, you are WAY TOO nifty!!!! soooo cool!!!!
    nic

  2. Lora says:

    Love the new color. It is better although I never disliked the first color. Love the big blackboard. Hey, you should check out MissMustardSeed’s blog. She does some cool graphics,and writing with chalk on chalkboard.

  3. Sandra says:

    Very cool! Love your chalkboard paint idea!

  4. Joanne says:

    oh Angie, you’re so cute!!! Time to have my own house so I can do some nifty things!! 🙂

  5. Irene says:

    Looks GREAT ange! Love the new colour… I didn’t like it at first that you were gonna repaint it but it was a good decision :D. looking forward to seeing it in person

  6. This is fantastic. I LOVE your chalkboard!!! I have been toying with doing this myself in the kitchen, and seeing yours makes me even more excited to do it! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  7. Ange! I love it! Way to go! It looks really cool.

  8. Joanne says:

    Hello lo lo lo….Anybody home ome ome…

  9. Pingback: Faux Chalkboard Sign | Life at Walnut Grove

Leave a Reply

