A Little Progress Here and There

Sometimes it’s discouraging to see how much we still have to do on our property.  Time, funds, and energy limit us from getting it all done at once.  Yet it’s so gratifying to see little bits of progress here and there!  Last July, I planted a clematis and peonies along our barn and blogged about it. Well, in the course of cutting down branches from the walnut tree above, the whole clematis was ripped out the ground and appeared to die.  I didn’t have much hope for it this spring.  Surprise, surprise!  It came back bigger and flowering this year, and one of the peonies actually bloomed too!  I’m hoping the rest will bloom next year also, but I do know that they can be persnickety plants. We’ll see.  For now, I’m enjoying the abundance of life and growth outside my back door while closing my eyes to the projects still awaiting completion.

Last year before the clematis was ripped up:

This year:

DSC_3216And there’s always something new blooming.  Right now it’s our irises:

DSC_3219

DSC_3226

DSC_3220

This entry was posted in outdoor landscaping. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Little Progress Here and There

  1. Anonymous says:

    Looks great, ange! i am forever poking around our yard looking for new growth on something. i’ve had great luck with mini roses…. you know the ones you buy in the grocery store and plop in the center of your table for a week or two… well, shove them in the ground and they might just surprise you! alas and alack, i’ve faithfully waited for my peonies to grow and they’ve only grown four inches above the ground… your iris look beautiful!

    • Doreen says:

      That was not me! (Dor) Maybe it was Nic! Peonies are hard to transplant successfully (they usually die). But they must be planted extremely shallow. That’s all I know, and we transplanted them successfully last fall (they are in full bloom 🙂
      Dor

  2. I thought roses were prone to diseases and very fussy! I shall have to check yours out! Btw, is this Lora or Doreen? haha 😉

  3. Anonymous says:

    It;s me, nic!!!!

Leave a Reply

