Grill Cover for $6

Our grill is a very cheap one, and it doesn’t look the greatest even though it still works just fine.  The black is fading, it usually has grease stains on it, and it has some rusty spots.

DSC_2162

So I thought that a grill cover was needed.  But I didn’t want the typical plain old black ones.  First of all, they cost $20 and up, and secondly, they’re boring!  So I went to Meijer, purchased two vinyl tablecloths with polyester backing on clearance (total- $6), measured, cut, and sewed away.

Here’s the result:

DSC_3294 DSC_3293

After I first put it on, I thought that it was WAY too bright and stood out too much.  But after a couple of days, I really like it.  I might put some kind of saying in black letters on the front, but I’m not sure yet (something like:  “What’s grilling?”).  What do you think?

This entry was posted in decorating from scratch, decorating: before and afters and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Grill Cover for $6

  1. Lora says:

    So creative Ange! Love it. I’m too lazy to put the grill cover we have on and off our ours, grease stains not withstanding! LOL
    Lora

  2. Irene says:

    So cute Ange! Great job. “What’s grilling?” would be neat but I also like it plain too.

  3. Joanne says:

    Good for you, Ange!!! I’m working on some projects over here too!

  4. Anonymous says:

    super cool! what’s with my crafty sisters???? i haven’t got a crafty bone in my body! keep posting, ange!

  5. kmdutchlife says:

    Oh Ange, It’s cute!!!! You’re amazing!!!!

  6. Denise Z says:

    That’s cute! I’d never be able to sew something like that–even with a pattern! LOL! What about “BBQ” in big black letters?

    • About the sewing, I don’t know if I could actually use a pattern…it was easier to just wing it. And “BBQ” is a good idea. I can totally see it. This is making it difficult….

  7. Marcia says:

    Neat! We have the boring Costco knockoff of the Weber cover, but it doesn’t much matter because it hasn’t made it out of the box yet.

Leave a Reply

