Walnut Grove

Silverbush, Green Gables, Ingleside, Windy Poplars…all beautiful names given to beloved homes.  For our home? Walnut Grove.  The reason is obvious: five walnut trees full of mess and majesty grace our property:

This walnut tree gives definition to the front of our house.....along with a TON of walnuts!

This walnut tree gives definition to the front of our house…..along with a TON of walnuts! We hear loud pops occasionally as cars drive over them.

DSC_3945

This giant gives cool shade to our deck, and it’s full of birds and squirrels. I don’t know what I’d do if it ever had to be cut down.

These three walnut trees are all younger and produce less walnuts (thankfully!).  They form a little grove in our backyard.

These three walnut trees are all younger and produce less walnuts (thankfully!). They form a little grove in our backyard.

Have you named your home?  If so, please share!

This entry was posted in philosophical ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Walnut Grove

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love it, Ange! What a perfect name! I love houses that have names. I’ve been thinking of a name for our house but haven’t come up with one, yet! We don’t have any trees that distinguish it although we have one lovely pine tree…. I’ll have to think about it and let you know. Anyway, good name! Your house looks so cute!

  2. Lora says:

    Great name! Our name is Brightwood Cottage, because we have woods in our backyard but our house is in the sun, with trees on the side. We actually took the name with us from our first home which had a similar situation. At our first home (on the survey of the roads and land by our house) there was a planned road which had never been built, going through the woods behind us, called Brightwood lane. So there you ave the story of our home’s name.

    • I love your name! I never really knew the reason behind it, but of course it makes perfect sense. The only thing I’d say (tongue-in-cheek) is that you must have an “American-sized” cottage. 🙂

  3. Sandra says:

    Hmmm…you’ve got me inspired to name my own house. I’ve named some of my cars, but not our house yet! I love your name and it most certainly suits your house. I like your description of walnut trees: majestic and messy 🙂

  4. Heidi says:

    We hope to name our place Granite Ridge b/c there is one right close to the house. I love your name for your place of abode. Heidi

  5. Pingback: Faux Chalkboard Sign | Life at Walnut Grove

Leave a Reply

