Faux Chalkboard Sign

I love chalkboards.  When I first started teaching, that’s what I wrote on.  I loved wiping it down with a wet rag to a get fresh black board, ready for the colors of the rainbow. I miss using it, but have made up for it in my home with my chalkboard stripe in my kitchen (here and here).

But sometimes I want the chalkboard look without having to paint something with chalkboard paint. The problem first arose over a year ago when I was making signs for my sister Rach’s wedding.  My mom came up with a brilliant idea: use black foam board and write on it with chalk!  Here’s how those signs turned out:

DSC_1882 DSC_1837 DSC_1839

After officially naming my home a few days ago, I thought what better way to establish it than with a sign by my back door? And why not a faux chalkboard sign since it will be permanent?

Here are the results:

DSC_4004 DSC_4000 DSC_4002

This entry was posted in decorating from scratch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Faux Chalkboard Sign

  1. Anonymous says:

    I love it Ange!!!!

Leave a Reply

