Earl Grey Tea Latte

This fall/winter, the go-to drink in our house has become the Earl Grey Tea Latte.  With blustering winds, silent continuous snow, and freezing temps, what better way to warm up than with a mug of this deliciousness?  I must confess that it has become a daily habit with me!

Here’s what you need:

DSC_4209

L to R: Something to warm milk in, a giant mug, vanilla syrup, loose leaf Earl Grey Tea, frother

DSC_4212

Brew a STRONG half mug of Earl Grey Tea (which is a mild tea to begin with). I use loose leaf tea, which definitely gives it a much better flavor, but I have used tea bags before.

DSC_4210

Sweeten the brewed tea with vanilla syrup to taste. This step is quite important.  I’ve tried sweetening the tea with just sugar, but it wasn’t nearly as good. I made my own syrup with vanilla beans using this recipe: http://cookiemonstercooking.com/2012/06/06/homemade-vanilla-syrup/

DSC_4214

Warm up about half a cup of milk in the microwave (or on the stove top). I use whole milk which is what we drink. I’ve heard that less fattening milk froths better, but I don’t have a problem with the whole milk, and I love the taste.

After the milk is heated, use your frother (or a whisk) to double the milk in volume!

After the milk is heated, use your frother (or a whisk) to double or triple the milk in volume.

DSC_4218

Stir the frothed milk into the tea, and mix it well. The frothed milk will pick up the flavor of the vanilla syrup the more you mix it in. Add a dash of cinnamon to the top and you’re good to go! Of course, a white chocolate craisin oatmeal cookie is always a great accompaniment, although the tea is filling on its own. ENJOY!

DSC_4206

Not sure what this picture has to do with an Earl Grey Tea Latte, but just looking at it makes me want to yawn, curl up under a blanket, read a good book, and well….sip a latte!

 

 

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Earl Grey Tea Latte

  1. Irene says:

    Mhmmm… looks so deliciuos Ange! I think I must by some vanilla syrup now and make it for me and Ma! Also, Bubs looks so cute in that picture! The picture inspires those same thoughts in me too!

    • You should try and make the vanilla syrup!!! 🙂 It’s not hard at all, if you can get the vanilla beans. I bought them off Amazon but they might sell them at Fortinos in the gourmet section. So delicious!!!! And if you get a package of the vanilla beans, they don’t go bad and so you can keep making more syrup as the months go by. 🙂

  2. mmmm! we’ve been making pumpkun spice lattes but now I will have to try this. Need to drink more tea / less coffee and I love Earl Grey….time to buy some vanilla 🙂

  3. Joanne says:

    sounds delish!!! I’ve become a tea drinker at night, and this is a good way to just stick to tea and not have a snack with the tea.

  4. coletrain77 says:

    Looks good, Ange. Considering I almost made the switch to instant coffee, I better not make anything too time consuming! But I love Earl Grey tea and should make it more often. Keep blogging, Ange!

Leave a Reply

