Pallet Wall and Dresser Re-do

I’m back.

Our computer completely crashed (again!!!) a week and a half ago, and I quickly learned how dependent I was on it!  For the first day or two, I missed the social aspect (blogs, pinterest, and facebook).  But then I realized how valuable as a tool my computer is to me.  Work emails, recipes, how-to’s, directions, Craigslist, Skype, research, news, and more was sorely missed.

But we now have a new computer which will hopefully not have any issues!  I lost some pictures again, but oh well.  Life moves on.

Remember the one corner of our “new” basement room?

DSC_4521

Here’s the opposite side:

DSC_4518

A view of both sides at once:

DSC_4523

The white dresser base was painted with chalk paint and sealed with wax. The top was sanded down, stained, and varnished. It’s already being used to store a lot.

 It once looked like this:

DSC_4276new

Here are a few close-ups:

DSC_4525

DSC_4528

DSC_4529

Extra details:

-The brass fan came from our church when it got AC and no longer needed them.

-The ship models were Josh’s.

-The wood wall was made from pallets.  We stained the wood and then nailed them up.  There are many good tutorials on other blogs if you’re interested in the idea.  But if you have any questions, I’ll be happy to answer them.

DSC_4519

Our DVD player is most often used for my exercises (ugh…I’m trying to get more in shape), which works great because it’s a little chilly down there. But I still put this frame on our dresser as a reminder for the occasional time when Josh and I watch a DVD.  It really limits our choices….in a good way!

The opposite side of the room will get some bookshelves from IKEA, once I finally make it to the store! They will store books (duh) and magazines, but also my crafting and sewing supplies.  IKEA, why don’t you come to Grand Rapids???  For now, it’s a heap of stuff:

DSC_4530

And here’s a final before and after:DSC_4181

DSC_4523

This entry was posted in decorating: before and afters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Pallet Wall and Dresser Re-do

  1. coletrain77 says:

    Super cool, Ange! I love it! It looks so cheerful and comfortable. Good job on all the work!!!

  2. Sandra says:

    Looks amazing Ange!! I love it all! Great idea with the wood ‘paneling’, it really matches the room and is very original! And I like your text from Philippians 🙂

  3. Irene says:

    Looks GREAT Ange! All those hours of back breaking labor sure paid off eh? I love how it’s not a super girly room, but not too manly either – comfortably in the middle and the nautical theme is really cool but not too overbearing!

  4. kmdutchlife says:

    Great job Ange!
    I have been painting and stuff too. We just got a new coffee table made from an old Chinese door from China. Cool hey? I am not doing anything to that though! 🙂 I know hey… my blog is on poor shapes!

  5. Marcia says:

    A+ in creativity! Amazing what you did in that room.

  6. Pingback: Basement Room Final Reveal | Life at Walnut Grove

Leave a Reply

