Basement Room Final Reveal

Our basement room is finally *pretty much* finished by purchasing, installing, and filling three bookshelves from IKEA.

First of all, I had no idea how many books we had acquired.  Even after sorting through them and giving five full boxes to our local thrift store, there wasn’t enough room for all of our books.  Some will have to reside in our family room.  The best part? Now I no longer have to rummage through boxes to find a particular book.

Second, my artsy and crafty stuff has found a home and blends in well with the books on the bookshelf. Once again, I no longer have to hunt for my supplies.

Third, I now have to refinish a bookshelf for our family room that’s needed for the surplus books. One completed project often leads to another…..

Here’s a final review of both sides of the room.

BEFORE:

dsc_0342

AFTER:

DSC_4523

BEFORE:

DSC_4530

AFTER:

DSC_4814

And some closeups:

DSC_4842

vintage spool containers….thanks Mom!

DSC_4828

A small pottery dish (from my in-laws) filled with a bunch of calligraphy nibs and a pen.

DSC_4825

the old book section: a metal pot filled with vintage clothespins subs in for a bookend

DSC_4824

the sewing shelf: I purchased the sewing basket from Joanne’s Fabric (which I just LOVE!!!!) and hope to make a cute cover for my machine.

DSC_4823

painting supplies are in a wood box used as a bookend

DSC_4821

a shelf dedicated just to L. M. Montgomery 🙂

DSC_4820

more vintage sewing supplies displayed in a canning jar

DSC_4818

Magazine and paintbrush storage

Here’s a final picture that might give you a better idea of how this room is situated.  It shows what you see when you’re standing in the doorway:

DSC_4844

This entry was posted in decorating: before and afters and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Basement Room Final Reveal

  1. Sandra says:

    LOVE IT! Wow, what a makeover! I’d love to see it in person 🙂 (see your email 🙂

  2. Irene says:

    Looks super! 🙂

  3. alice s. says:

    Oh–those shelves! Love those! Hmmm… may have to get me to Ikea. (Never been there…)

    • I love the shelves too! They are the more expensive kind because they are solid wood, but still the cheaper than anything comparable! You would love IKEA…..just come prepared with a van or pickup. 🙂

  4. Joanne says:

    Wow! U da bomb!!! Ha ha….just had to say that! Looks fabulous, Ange! I’m in awe of your creativity and energy!

  5. Pingback: The Little Engine that Could….Organize! | Life at Walnut Grove

  6. Susan says:

    Hi Andrea, was just looking at your blog about the desk you refinished and was so awed that I started looking at your other posts. I saw this one with your note about the old spool holders, but I really, really think that they are actually poker chip holders. I remember seeing them as a kid. 🙂 anyway, love all your re-do’s. I think you are the queen at it. All the best, love Aunt Susan

    • Thanks, Aunt Susan, for your kinds words! Now that you mention it, they DO look like poker chip holders, haha! I think my mom bought them secondhand with the old spools of thread already in them, which would be a unique way to display them. Very interesting!

Leave a Reply

