Some Simple Little Pleasures

“After all,” Anne had said to Marilla once, “I believe the nicest and sweetest days are not those on which anything very splendid or wonderful or exciting happens but just those that bring simple little pleasures, following one another softly, like pearls slipping off a string.”

My simple little pleasures these days:

DSC_4812

Bubba, a fuzzy purring cuddle-ball

DSC_4813

Ain’t he the cutest thing? I love it when he covers his eyes while he sleeps….

DSC_4831

A frequent visitor on our deck. Her speed and shyness have made her very difficult to photograph, however.

DSC_4834

She’ll come for a sip even when we’re sitting a few feet from the feeder. One time I even got to see her tongue!

DSC_4837

She must have a nest somewhere close and babies to feed, because she visits so often!

DSC_4840

summer evenings on the deck reading our books

DSC_4851

a heart-to-heart with a dear friend over a row of strawberries on a cool morning

DSC_4852

snow peas…..need I say more?

DSC_4853

cutting herbs to dry or use right away

DSC_4790

A few different students gave me some flowers and the garden spinner. I planted them altogether in a red tin to remind me of the great school year I had.

This entry was posted in life's happenings. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Some Simple Little Pleasures

  1. nancynurse86 says:

    Nice Ange! I see you have a nice pillow bed for Bubba. Isn’t it fun spoiling our pets!

    • hee, hee…..I know! It was an old cushion that I used in the classroom for my students, but then I decided that it looked nicer on my deck (better than a hairy blanket!). I can’t wait to see Maggie again! 🙂

  2. Lora says:

    What a bucolic life you lead! Sigh!! Oh well, we all have our simple pleasures… we just have to see and recognize them even if we are (too) busy!

  3. Have to agree, Ange. Life is lived and moments are enjoyed in the simple pleasures that fill each day! We need reminders to slow down and live in the present instead of always pressing ahead… Those strawberries are looking mouth-watering good!

  4. Diane VanderZand says:

    I thought I recognized that cushion….hope ya washed it!!!
    Enjoy the rest of the summer, it’s going to end before you know it!

Leave a Reply

