Good Eats

I took a break from my online cooking courses by Cooks Illustrated, but I purchased one of their books which I’m busy paging through to further educate the foodie in me.

Here’s a sample of late summer foods from my garden that have hit the spot:

DSC_5157

Our corn is stunted and pathetic, due to a lack of fertilizing, but still…

DSC_5167

….we’ve managed to harvest a few ears of corn that look iffy but taste so crunchy and sweet!

DSC_5169

Let me sing the praises of fresh mozzarella, sliced garden tomatoes still warm from the sun, fresh basil leaves, drizzled balsamic glaze and extra virgin olive oil, and all sprinkled with sea salt and pepper….so light and fresh!

DSC_5172

this is summer on a plate….

DSC_5176

And let’s not forget the steak grilled to perfection and topped with caramelized onions. While the steak was grilling, I threw on some zucchini spears coated lightly with olive oil, salt, and pepper. After they were grilled, I sprinkled them with freshly grated parmigiano reggiano and a little lemon juice.

 

And here’s a final picture to keep everything real:   😉

DSC_5177

Bon Appétit

 

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Good Eats

  1. coletrain77 says:

    Ange, it looks delish! I love mozzarella, basil, and tomato! It’s my favorite! I’ll have to try zucchini like you made it…

  2. Sandra says:

    Wow! Looks superb! I ate zucchini for supper on Monday: sliced it up, put them in the wok (or frying pan) sprinkled on some salt, pepper and garlic and they were delicious. Yours was good too when we were there! It must be very satisfying eating out of your own garden. I’ve got a blackberry bush that may produce a couple jars of jam – it’s a start, eh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

