Tomato-Pesto Pizza

What is it about from-scratch cooking that is so satisfying? There are plenty of nights where it’s just not possible to do everything from scratch, and the meals vary along the spectrum of “throw-the-fish-sticks-and-french-fries-in-the-oven” all the way to “Caesar salad-with-homemade-dressing-with-homemade-croutons-with-freshly-grated-Parmesan-with-grilled-marinated-chicken”. And while I’m not a food snob and am totally fine with tossed together meals that are still somewhat healthy (just ask Josh!), there is something special about the meals that take time and energy.  I tend to savor each bite and linger a little more over each flavor.

Last night was one of those meals. Since it was a Friday night, pizza seemed quite appropriate! By default, I most often make BBQ chicken pizza, but as I thought about it, a tomato pesto pizza seemed perfect. On hand or in the garden, I had tomatoes (both beef steak and cherry), basil, pine nuts, garlic, mozzarella cheese, Parmesan cheese, and basic pantry items.  I had never made pesto before, but a little research online made it seem easy. With that, a delicious summer meal was born:

????????????????????????????????????

ingredients for basil pesto (minus the tomato)

????????????????????????????????????

pizza dough from my bread machine layered with homemade pesto, grated mozzarella, sliced tomatoes, more grated mozzarella, and a sprinkle of grated Parmesan

????????????????????????????????????

hot and bubbly!

????????????????????????????????????

I wish I could say that I only ate one slice….ahem!

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Tomato-Pesto Pizza

  1. That looks yummy! I just bought my first jar of pesto last week. Maybe I’ll have to try make my own next time. 🙂

  2. Mmmmm….I could eat a slice or two right now! (9:30 a.m., with coffee anyone?)

  3. Lora says:

    Looks so yummy! I planned to make pesto with the bushes of basil I had growing. However, while we were away vacation the dear ate it all! Hey, can you share your bread machine pizza dough recipe? I made it once in my machine and it was so bland… The crust tasted like nothing!

    • That’s frustrating about the deer!!! Here’s the pizza dough recipe I used (it came with my bread machine recipe book). It makes two pizzas. You can freeze the dough and make another pizza later if you let it defrost overnight in the fridge. The frozen dough doesn’t rise as well, but it still tastes good.

      1 tsp dry yeast
      3 1/2 cup bread flour
      1 Tbs milk powder
      1 3/4 Tbs sugar
      1 tsp salt
      1 Tbs butter
      1 1/2 cup water

      1) Combine all ingredients in machine, putting yeast in the top dispenser. Use the pizza dough setting.

      2) Knead dough on a lightly floured surface until it becomes elastic and springs back when touched.

      3) Divide into 2 large balls and place in warm area for 10 minutes

      4) Shape each ball into a flat circle. Place the circles on parchment paper and prick with a fork.

      5) Let it rest for 15 minutes at room temperature.

      6) Preheat oven with a pizza stone in it to 425 degrees.

      7) Put on toppings for pizza.

      8) Slide parchment paper onto the pizza stone and bake for about 12-15 minutes.

  4. nancynurse86 says:

    Oh yum! Ange, I don’t know if you inspire me or just make me despair! I haven’t cooked a single meal since moving out (it doesn’t help that everyday mom invites me home for supper! lol). It’s so hard thinking what to cook for just one person! Tomorrow I do have a plan and I will cook though 🙂

Leave a Reply

