Found: A Printer Table (with a quick makeover)

In my last post, I showed the computer desk that I had refinished and then talked about getting some kind of printer table to put next to it. I wanted something that would contrast with the desk (not something wood and boxy) and more industrial looking.  Well, I hit the publish button on that post, left to do some errands, stopped at an antique shop, and saw something that would fit the bill! I whipped out my measuring tape, and yes, it would fit nicely beside the desk.

IMAG0068 It’s actually an old record player stand that has a wire rack below to hold albums. But who can’t re-purpose things? So I bought it and got to work with a quick makeover.

IMG_0049 I ripped off the old vinyl covering (which had a few holes in it anyways) and discovered smooth plywood underneath. I left the plywood and spray painted it a deep blue. The wire rack got turned into a cookbook holder, since I don’t store them in the kitchen.

IMG_0050

The blue ties into the dining room lamp and tablecloth, which is right across from the desk and printer.

IMG_0059

Here it is with the printer on it next to the desk:

IMG_0054

Although it’s not everyone’s style, I personally love it and think it’s fun and unique. In the future, I might refinish the top in another way, spray paint the legs, and use the bottom wire rack to store something else (music books? magazines? stationery?).  But for now it looks pretty good to me!  🙂

IMG_0055

This entry was posted in decorating: before and afters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Found: A Printer Table (with a quick makeover)

  1. Marlies says:

    I love it Ange! It turned out really well!!!

  2. Dor says:

    Very cute, Ange! The best projects are the ones you dream up and complete in a day! All fun and no stress 🙂

Leave a Reply

