1/2 Hour Easy Travel Pillow

With about 45 hours of sitting in the car ahead of me, what did I do an hour before we left? Whip up two travel pillows, of course. I cringed when I told Josh that I was going to make travel pillows while he was running back and forth, busy packing the van. His responding look spoke volumes, but seeing that we were not pressed for time and that I was positive it wouldn’t take too long, I pulled out my sewing machine and supplies.

Here’s what I did:

DSC_7109

I started with a basic square pillow form that I had in my stash. I measured around my neck to get an idea of how big to make the circle, and then I drew the circle in pencil and cut it out.

DSC_7111

Next, I pulled all of the pillow stuffing out.

DSC_7112

Then I cut out the same circle on the bottom half.

DSC_7113

My pillow form was already inside out for some reason, so I sewed all along the circle that I had just cut out, leaving a gap in one section to put the stuffing back in. I then turned the pillow right side out in order to stuff it.

DSC_7114

I stuffed the pillow with the former stuffing, which surprisingly fit quite easily in.

DSC_7115

I then sewed up the gap and the pillow was done!

IMAG0106

Time to sleep!

 

Here are some takeaways:

  1. The pillow was super easy to make and I think it’s comparable in size and comfort to what I saw at the store for a whole lot more money.
  2.  But, I wish the pillow was even poofier. Josh really likes travel pillows (instead of regular pillows) in the car, but he preferred to use both of the travel pillows at once to give more support.
  3. If I were to make it again, I would place the circle more off-centered so that at least one side would be bigger and give more neck support.
  4. Also, a darker colored fabric would be better. The pillows stayed white, but if we had stained them with food, it would have been obvious.
  5. In the end, because we traveled so far, the pillows were worth it and added a little extra comfort. I can see myself using them in the future for shorter trips to Canada as well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 1/2 Hour Easy Travel Pillow

  1. Marlies says:

    Great Andrea!! I can see that you would’ve stuffed it more. Fun to do these little impulsive things he?

  2. Dor says:

    Such ingenuity! My kids are all in awe that such a pillow exists for travel and have placed 5 orders for our 9 hour trip 😕

Leave a Reply

