An Old School Desk Turned Nightstand

When my mom-in-law asked me whether or not I wanted some old school desks that she had, I didn’t think twice.  Yes please! I’m a teacher and I love antiques, so it was a no-brainer, even if I wasn’t quite sure what I would do with them or where I would put them. And so they sat for a while in our shed. Enter Bedroom #3. I had a bunk bed, but no nightstand…..bingo!

Here’s the before:

IMG_0314.JPG The wood was quite scratched up with tic-tac-toes and names from my hubby’s siblings:

IMG_0313

After a good  scrubbing, sanding, and staining, here’s the after:

IMG_0330

IMG_0329

The clock lamp was made by Josh in high school.  I think it’s kinda cute, but I’m thinking of getting a new lampshade and *maybe* a new clock face that’s more kid-friendly.

Tomorrow I’ll show the whole room!  🙂

This entry was posted in decorating: before and afters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Old School Desk Turned Nightstand

  1. Marlies says:

    Totally great idea, Ange!! I love the fact that it’s a two in one! Hope to see it for real one day!

Leave a Reply

