Petite Pleasures

Sometimes it’s small, unexpected things that can give such pleasure. The spark of joy is elusive…I can’t plan for it. I’m going about my ordinary day and suddenly, there it is! A conversation, that music, the stillness of nature, the sizzle and fragrance of garlic hitting hot oil, pulling sheets off the line saturated with the smell of the outdoors, sitting underneath our huge walnut tree at dusk with the bats swirling around and around, their squeaks filling the quiet air….so many things that on most days are meaningless suddenly spark joy.  Why some days and not others?  I don’t know.  But I take each pleasure as it’s graciously given to me by my Creator, thankful for a small foretaste of what’s to come.

One of my current petite pleasures is the  10-foot sunflowers that Josh planted on a whim. As I pull into the driveway, far away their golden heads stand just above the hill, nodding at me as if to say, “Good Day!”  I can’t help but exclaim over them again and again.

IMG_0437  IMG_0442

IMG_0444

IMG_0445

This entry was posted in philosophical ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Petite Pleasures

  1. Nice, Ange! We are missing our golden giants this year….forgot to plant the seeds we bought!

Leave a Reply

